Useful Contacts

There are so many support agencies out there who can help with any situation you may be going through. This list is not comprehensive but hopefully can point you in the right direction. Any suggestions for additional contacts that we should include please let the office know.

Food Banks

Trussell Trust Centre. Margaret Street Church 01530 838355 (requires a voucher from local care professional)

South Wigston  www.ruralcc.org.uk/uploads/food-bank-case-study.pdf

Oadby  www.oadbymethodist.co.uk/images/OadbyFoodBank.pdf or 07913525718

Leicester Charity Link  www.charity-link.org/how-we-help/foodbank or 0116 2222200

FareShare  www.fareshare.org.uk/regional-centres/east-midlands/

Help Lines

NSPCC 0808 8005000

Childline 0800 1111

NHS Direct 111

Parenting

Family Lives 0808 8002222 or www.familylives.org.uk

Mumstop 01455 270840 or www.mumstop.co.uk

Net Mums www.netmums.com

Debt Support

Christians Against Poverty 0800 3280006 or www.capuk.org

National Debt Line 0808 8084000 or www.nationaldebtline.org

Housing

Shelter 0808 08004444 or http://england.shelter.org.uk

Mental Health Support

Samaritans 0845 7909090

Mind 0300 1233393 or www.mind.org.uk

Young Minds 0808 8025544 or www.youngminds.org.uk

Cruse 0844 4779400 or www.cruse.org.uk

Domestic Violence Support

National Helpline 08082000247 or www.nationaldomesticviolencehelpline.org.uk

Women’s Aid 0300 3031844 or www.womensaid.org.uk

Living Without Abuse 01509 552549 or www.lwa.org.uk

Bridge House (refuge) 0116 2221845

Karma Nirvana (honour based violence or forced marriage) 0800 5999247

Carers Support

Carers UK 0808 8087777 or www.carersuk.org

Prison/Court

Victim Support 0808 1689111 or www.victimsupport.org

Advice Now www.advicenow.org.uk (for information on Rights and the Law)

Prisoner Families 0808 8082003 or www.prisonerfamilies.org.uk

Other Useful Support Agencies

Menphy’s 01455 323020 or  www.menphys.org.uk

Fun and Families 0116 2334254 or www.funandfamilies.co.uk (for behaviour and communication issues)

Citizens Advice Bureaux 0300 3301025 www.adviceguide.org.uk/england

Healthy Start 0345 6076823 or www.healthystart.nhs.uk

Suppliers of Furniture & Appliances (Sofa) http://sofareuse.org/ or 01509 262557

Other Leicestershire Home-Start’s

Home-Start Horizons 0116 2549937 or www.home-start-leicester.org.uk

Home-Start North West Leicestershire 01530 411121 or http://home-startnwl.org.uk

Home-Start South Leicestershire 01858 467982 or www.home-startsouthleics.org.uk